Going on hiatus…

Dallas Arboretum

Chihuly at Dallas Arboretum

I’ve been finding that there are too many competing priorities for my time these days, and this blog is suffering because of that. If I could write faster – both my fiction and blog posts – this wouldn’t be so much an issue.

I started this blog ages ago thinking of it as a diary. My kids had no idea what I did for a living. I wanted to share that with them. Do they read this blog? I highly doubt it unless I throw it in their faces. :) But who else wants to read about the daily life of a librarian? (We have Library Day in the Life for that – it’s great to break the stereotypes, but I wonder if non-library types are interested.)

I don’t blog anonymously so I don’t spill the beans on the most interesting library-land encounters I’ve had. I don’t vent. I’m not a philosopher, nor do I have great insights into the issues facing academic libraries. I have my opinions, but I’d rather be writing fiction.

And that brings me to the point of this post.

With the children grown and independent, even though the youngest still lives at home,   my fiction writing is at the top of my list of priorities. (I’ll admit it will take 2nd place with my daughter’s upcoming wedding.) I have to write FICTION to hone my craft. I must have an online presence as a writer to build a platform. It’s a tough, brave new world out there for writers, and I’ll have to put effort into my fiction blog.

So this will be my last post here as this blog goes on hiatus. I’ll continue to tweet @CharSimser on life at the library, on interesting articles I’m reading. Those tweets will appear in the sidebar here – you’ll be able to link out to the things I find fascinating. :)   If you interested in my fiction pursuits, follow me at charlenenewcomb.com.

About Char

Mom. Writer. Librarian. Navy vet. I live in Kansas. Yes, Toto, Kansas. Welcome to my worlds...

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Libraries, Life, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. alibrariangirl

    Good for you! I’ve already added your fiction-writing link to my blogroll so I can keep up with this “side” of a librarian. And people think we are boring??!!??! geez …… You proved ‘em wrong!

  2. Thank you for your diligence with this blog, Char, but enjoy your new found fiction freedom!

  3. jennyandrobert

    I read sometimes :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

