Elsevier sells Endeavor

Whoa! Big news today for those of us who are Endeavor clients. I remember hearing about the day Jane Burke (Endeavor founder) made the announcement about Elsevier at the Voyager Users Group annual meeting. There was an audible gasp in the room. Today, the folks meeting in the conference room next to my office and several of my own staff with pods outside my office heard me shout “Whoa!” as I read the press release from Endeavor.

Honestly I haven’t kept close tabs on Ex Libris but one colleague feels they are more progressive with the development of user interfaces than Elsevier has been with Endeavor Voyager. Just the fact that Ex Libris has a huge stake in the ILS market (and is not sidetracked by a journal publishing business) should mean good things for Endeavor. More time/programming effort to improve the user interface and hopefully the back-end modules.

At this point, I don’t even want to think about potential acquisitions migration issues should Voyager go away in the future. Starting from scratch is not appealing…

Leave a Reply

