the book shelf

I wanted to rearrange my SW book collection in preparation for the upcoming holidays. This is no small undertaking. I do have a few SW books*. And as a librarian, I know how heavy books can be. I’m not sure what possessed me to try to place all the books on this one 13 foot-long shelf. Oh, it’s a well-made shelf. I thought it was bolted to the wall & anchored well. Apparently not. Or, I should say, not well enough to hold a hundred or so pounds of books. I had almost finished getting the books on the shelf – I was probably about 2 feet from the end – when I noticed the shelf was sagging. Then suddenly, most the books came sliding down. Did I mention that this shelf is about 10 feet off the ground? It’s the shelf above the novels in this pic (click on the photo to see a larger image):

200705-star-wars-novels.jpg

(Too bad I didn’t think to take a picture of the mess with the books on the floor, some on the shelf, etc.) I put the other stuff back, well, all except the stein. The shelf is leaning. Sadly, today I came home from work and found that Darth Maul had slipped and was in a chair – I hope the cat wasn’t sitting there when he fell! Luke has fallen somewhere – I need the ladder to see if he’s on top of the shelf – and the Pepsi canister is wedged between the cabinet and the wall. Ah well. Guess I better find someone who can straighten the shelf! The bookcase/entertainment unit looks emtpy now without the books. I need to dig out the Christmas decorations and fill that up!

*my LibraryThing currently has less than half of my collection. One of these days I’ll get around to adding the rest of my SW books.

Leave a Reply

