a childhood dream fulfilled

Stonehenge. Wow.

I’m reminded of a friend who told me there wasn’t anything exciting about driving across eastern Utah. “It’s just a bunch of rocks.” Yeah, right.

There are rocks at Stonehenge. What’s the big deal you say?

I don’t need to tell you the story of Stonehenge because you’ve heard it before – speculation about who built it, how the rocks got there and where they came from, what it was used for, etc. But there it is on the broad Salisbury Plain surrounded by sheep grazing in the fields.

The bus driver warns that you’re about to get your first glimpse of Stonehenge.

Whoa…. Wow. Cool! It is an amazing site as you drive up the A303. The stones, some over 20 feet tall, sit there near the junction of two roads. It’s just an incredible sight and hard to describe the excitement, exhilaration, and awe I felt. I don’t know what I was thinking at that moment. Probably something along the lines of “oh my God, I cannot believe I’m seeing Stonehenge, live and in person”. In my sci fi/fantasy world, I’d like to think some aliens left the stones there and used it to contact their own back ‘home’. History & archaeological digs tell us differently so that fantasy notion must be put to rest. But there is still a lot of mystery around the site. As the t-shirt I bought there says, STONEHENGE ROCKS! More pics.

Leave a comment