NaNoWriMo

Yes, it’s November and NaNoWriMo: National Novel Writing Month. I understand that 10s of thousands participate in this event. Bless them. The idea is to write about 1600 words a day in order to have a novel written–a short novel–by the end of the month. I haven’t ever tried this but it is on my to-do list when I retire, which is another decade (at least) away. I do love what they have on their “about” page:

Because of the limited writing window, the ONLY thing that matters in NaNoWriMo is output. It’s all about quantity, not quality. The kamikaze approach forces you to lower your expectations, take risks, and write on the fly.

Make no mistake: You will be writing a lot of crap. And that’s a good thing. By forcing yourself to write so intensely, you are giving yourself permission to make mistakes. To forgo the endless tweaking and editing and just create. To build without tearing down.

It’s a wonderful exercise that several of my friends are attempting this year. Good luck to all!

On the other hand, I rather like what my friend eclectic librarian has written in her na-blog-wri-mo post today. This is a little more my speed these days. So stay tuned!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo

  1. This is one of my favorite things about November. Every year I tell myself that I’ll participate but the month sneaks up on me and I never do… maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

