holiday greetings 2009

December 20, 2009

Wow. It’s nearly over! It certainly went by quickly! Some highlights of the year:

Joel and Jeff visited at the beginning of  January.

I traveled to England again at the end of March to attend the annual conference of the United Kingdom Serials Group (UKSG) in Torquay, Devonshire. I had 2 days ‘vacation’ in St. Ives, Cornwall on the front end of that trip, and 1 day (well actually about 14 hours) in Stratford Upon Avon where I saw the Royal Shakespeare Company performance of “A Winter’s Tale”.

Jeff & the cheer squad at Trinity Valley placed 2nd at the National Cheer Association Competition in April.

Jeff finished his cheer career there in May and moved to Houston to work for a year. He was accepted at Texas Tech University but decided to wait until fall 2010 to attend.

Jenny graduated
from Kansas State University with a Bachelor’s degree in Marketing, minor in Spanish, and certificate in International Business.

My term as past president of NASIG ended in June at the end of the conference in Asheville, North Carolina. I served on NASIG’s executive board for 7 years!

NASIG still keeps me busy–I am a member of the Electronic Communications Committee, chair a task force on conference calling solutions, and serve as a member of another investigating open source options for publishing the conference proceedings.

In August, I caught up with my Star Wars friends in Indianapolis for fun & games, including the ‘catch Luke on the Falcon’ game from Empire Strikes Back (surely you remember that scene, right?)

I visited Mom, brother George & his wife Elaine in Virginia in February and September. Attended nephew Steve’s wedding to Andrea in Delaware in September, too.

Work was busy with library renovations and major reorganization discussions. I chaired search committees for 2 asst. dean positions in the fall. The next round of searches for department heads begins in January.

I visited friend Sarah in Omaha in early December and enjoyed the blizzard–10 inches of snow, -20 wind chills–neither of which kept us from getting to see the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra perform John Williams score in a multimedia show, Star Wars in Concert!

I’m anxiously awaiting publication of my brand new Star Wars short story “Shades of Gray”. It is supposed to online at starwars.com before the end of the year. [Dec. 22: This just in…it’s live! http://www.starwars.com/fans/hyperspace/fiction/shadesofgray/index.html. (Members only can read the full story. Sorry.]

The year will end on a quiet note. Jenny & boyfriend Robert will have Christmas dinner with me. Jeff & girlfriend Megan will drive up from Houston on January 4. I’m hoping that Joel will visit me while I’m in the UK in April!

My sabbatical begins January 1. YAY!!!

So Merry Christmas to you. Peace to all for 2010.

3 thoughts on “holiday greetings 2009

  1. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year–have lots of good times in England. Envious!!!!!!!!!!!

    Jess will be in Manhattan on Christmas.

  2. Much love and happiness to you and yours at Christmas. No snow in FLA, but cold. It won’t hit 60 today! Just in time for the holidays and not a minute too soon. We wait all year for this! Anyway, have a great holiday season and keep us informed on your sabbatical. Patti

Leave a Reply

