St. Ives, Cornwall

It’s vacation time! You say “WHAT?!” Sounds like I’ve been on a 2 month vacation, right? Now really – I haven’t shared all the details of my meetings – and I really did have meetings and spend lots of time in transit! Honest. I’m saving those details for the reports I’m required to turn in both to the provost and to the dean of libraries at K-State and to the NASIG board.

But these last 2 weeks are meeting free, and other than working on that report and keeping tabs on work email, I am officially ‘on vacation’!

I left London last Thursday for the 5+ hour train ride to St. Ives on the southwest coast of England. I only had one change on the train in St. Erth, which is a whole 15 minutes from St. Ives. The time on the train really does go quickly.

St. Ives is a gorgeous, quaint seaside town with old fishermen’s houses and newer and refurbished townhouses hugging the steep hillsides. After I checked into my B&B, which was about one block from the main part of town, I walked along the wharf, sat and enjoyed the views, had dinner, then crashed for the night.

along the wharf, st. ives

low tide along the wharf, st. ives

looking at town from the wharf, st. ives

looking at town from the wharf

the Anchorage B&B

Leave a Reply

