research & creative writing

I was digging around for some Naval history in order to place my main character’s father on a Pacific fleet ship in the late 1950s. Dang I love the Internet! I discovered that the aircraft carrier USS Ranger was on the east coast and moved to its new homeport in Alameda, California in 1958. How perfect!  I’d previously established that Jack was stationed in Monterey by late 1960. (I love it when  plan (or plot, in this case) comes together!)

I happened to look up some info on the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, which led me to my old haunts at the Presidio there where I was stationed. Ah memories…

As for the writing… I’m debating the ending of chapter 18 but well into chapter 19.  I’m 300 words shy of 70,000.

One thought on “research & creative writing

Leave a Reply

