stats & other work…

Let’s do a post about library work today!!

I’ve been writing about my novel writing adventures recently. Fellow writer Mariewas kind enough to tweet my last entry to her 152 followers, which may have netted me a whole 14 views. (Okay, some of those may have been the dear souls who regularly read my blog. Ha!)But let’s take a closer look at those stats. If you’re wondering how this relates to library work, you do realize that half my job is about numbers, right? To the stats…

site statsPer wordpress.com’s lovely site stats page, I can actually see that on Tuesday, one day after my post, the 4 hits had nothing to do with my post on writing. All views were related to an ancient post about a library Christmas card. That post has always netted a lot of hits but the funny thing is, I posted it regarding a 2006 card from OCLC, and the link now points to one they posted in 2008 which I am not nearly as impressed with.

More revealing, the search terms people used that led them to my blog on the 29th:
search terms
so…no one even looked at my post about writing.

Even more interesting are the numbers from Monday. Four views of the Christmas card, including one that found me because they want to ‘give a library card this Christmas’. What a great idea! Libraries have such wonderful things–for the tiny cost of that library card (actually my public library is free to me!) you can borrow DVDs, videos, CDs–no monthly charges from Netflix, Hulu, or download $$ from iTunes! And books…books that will take you to places you might only imagine like Pern (RIP in AM) or to Middle Earth, to a galaxy far, far away or where no one has gone before.

Oh…the post about my novel writing: 6 views. All right! Hm… (Marie, I’m not so sure the tweet helped. There were no referrers from Twitter on either day. Ah, well.)

So this post might be a stretch but, as I mentioned, my job is all about numbers–library collections & expenditures. Statistical analysis of that information over time reveals interesting trends, information we use for future planning. And analyzing my blog site stats tells me that to increase traffic (i.e., for future planning), I should write more about libraries and Christmas cards or Edinburgh, JK Rowling, and Conisbrough–those terms are also hot. (Maybe I’ll write a future post that documents hits on this post.)

And to appease those searchers who are looking for library Christmas cards, I give you this:
hale pic

If you haven’t clicked away by now… Libraries are heavy into social media. We connect with our users through blogs, Facebook and Twitter. I do the same to talk about my work specifically and the work being done in libraries. That probably bores the heck out of the librarians who follow me. It probably bores the heck out of family, friends, and strangers, too, but everyone is free to read…or not. (Since I’m trying to do a library-related post today, I won’t bother you with other topics I cover via those tools. Stop smirking!)

Many library jobs look very different than they did 20 years ago; there is a huge variety of work being accomplished by individuals with the same job titles; there are many new roles. (Can the same be said of accountants or architects or lawyers?) Why just this week, I completed the expenditures summaries for annual reporting, ran reports for library branch and reference collections information, completed documentation for the Libraries’ reports and statistics, discussed specs and instructions regarding adding sponsor and organizational logos on NASIG’s website, added outbound linking/DOIs for an article in one of our open access journals, emailed the journal editor about that work, and created the documentation for that process, and made some notes for myself for an upcoming department meeting. More reports on tap today; more outbound linking to do. Fun stuff!

One thought on “stats & other work…

  1. Yes, I have 152 followers (actually, 154 now). But some of those “people” are businesses that probably spend zero time on twitter and don’t care about anything I say. I didn’t follow them back.

    Some of 154 people are auto-tweeting (spamming) about their books/blogs and never spend time on twitter, themselves. I didn’t follow most of them back. Someday I will unfollow the ones I did follow, but not yet for reasons I won’t go into here.

    About a third of my followers (that I’ve actually followed back) don’t seem to say anything on twitter. I’m not sure if they are lurking, or signed up and then gave up on it.

    So we’re down to about 70 followers who actually use twitter to communicate (to varying degrees). Of those 70, how many were on twitter when I retweeted about your post or shortly thereafter? Probably not many. And they were probably so tired of seeing all the spam about books and blogs that they didn’t bother to click through. But I tried 🙂

    The lesson here is that Twitter is about communicating, not spamming. The spammers have ruined some aspects of twitter for those of use who are actually trying to share something. Even so, I have made a number of connections with authors via twitter. I posted an interview of one of them yesterday. You make these connections by responding when they say something “real” and by visiting their blogs when they tweet a blog title that sounds interesting. Leave a comment at the blog or tweet your comment so your followers can see it, too. That’s how you make a connection.

    (Hmm, I think I’ll make this into a blog post ;D)

Leave a Reply

